Reply to Topic
AuthorMessage
Pages: << · 1 2
xnuvax On April 06, 2010

Deleted

SYDNEY, Australia
#16New Post! Mar 21, 2009 @ 14:03:06
@kyahbean Said

You are more than welcome. I have a lot of experience with abuse, and abusive relationships. I've seen them happen, had many friends in them and have a few friends still in them, and have been in a few myself.

Whether we are talking about you or someone you know, I'm going to approach it as if it is you, because that's the easiest way for me. Tell me if that's not OK.

Having someone tell a person who is in an abusive relationship to just "get out because that's the right thing to do" is never very helpful. Obviously, no one should stay in a relationship like that, but it's easier said than done. Rationality is clouded by the love you feel for this person, and it's normal to keep trying to remember the good times and the honey moon times, and the times after the apologies. This makes it easier to stay.

You know in your heart you should leave a person who treats you unfairly or is abusive towards you. It's the reality of doing it that scares the crap out of people. I know from experience how terrifying that can be.

It's important to remember that you are a human being, and that the way you are being treated is not your fault, and that no one in life should be treated that way. If you want to build up strength to leave him, you need to get a support network. Abusive people tend to isolate their victims, and make them feel as if they have no one else, because this makes it easier for them to exert their control.

If you feel that this person can change, and has shown signs of wanting to change, you need to think long and hard about whether it is worth giving your life and love into that venture. There is a very high chance that it won't work out, and you will end up old and miserable, having wasted the best years of your life and youth on someone who just will never respect you the way you deserve.